WCT Continues Work At New Beginnings


The Dyess WCT continued work this past weekend at New Beginnings. The WCT has spent several weekends over past couple of months working on the inside of the complex, transforming all of the apartments. New Beginnings is a woman’s transitional house for women coming out of Jail/Prison.

Missy Denard, Executive Director of New Beginnings-Big Country has been dedicating her life to prison and jail ministry for twelve years in Abilene, Texas. New Beginnings is a Christian based transitional home, helping women learn how to live a Christian life and teaching them life skills.

Tenants have already begun moving into the completed apartments.

Photo Gallery

SrA Eugene Dotson Named Volunteer Of The Year

SrA Eugene Dotson (center above) was named this year’s Dyess We Care Team volunteer of the year at the 13th annual WCT awards banquet. This years event was sponsored by Star Family of Dealerships and the Communities of Abilene Federal Credit Union. This year’s master of ceremony was SrA Stephanie Grenon, last years WCT volunteer of the year. The awards were presented to each on this years winners by the 7th Bomb Wing Vice Commander Col Steven Beasley (above left) and Command Chief CMSgt Kenneth Lindsey (above right).  The top ten volunteers of the year are determined by the total number of volunteer hours for the year along with the number of projects and fundraisers as well as the consistency of their volunteer service each quarter. This year, like last year, was very close among the top volunteers.

This year also saw another Superior Community Service award winner. This award is presented to a volunteer who has accumulated more than 250 volunteer service hours with the WCT. This year’s recipient was SrA Kyle Glotzbach, pictured above.

This year’s Founder Award recipient is TSgt Matthew Childers. The Founder’s Award recipient is select by the WCT founder, retired MSgt Gordon Storey, and is awarded to the volunteer that exemplifies leadership, mentorship, camaraderie, and community, all principals on which the Dyess We Care Team was founded.

For the first time in the 13 year history of the Dyess We Care Team the award for the Squadron of the Year was presented. The first squadron to receive this award is the 7th Civil Engineering Squadron (photo above). The trophy is a traveling trophy and will be awarded to the outstanding squadron each year.

The Star Supporter of the year was awarded to Keep Movin’ Fitness. Receiving the award for Keep Movin’ is Mica Jones.

Below are the following top ten volunteers recognized at this year’s awards ceremony.

#2: SrA Jacob Hicks

#3: A1C Steven Vermillion

#4: SrA Kyle Glotzbach

#5: SSgt Michael Miller

#6: SSgt Brett Williams

#7: SrA John Tomsich

#8: A1C Kevin Ellis

#9: A1C Matthew Lees

#10: A1C Loretta Caplinger

The WCT Provides Assistance To A Local Vietnam Veteran

The WCT recently provided assistance to a Vietnam Vet with major home repairs. Typically the funds for such a project would have come out of the WCT budget; however, with NORTH Lowe’s providing 25% off and Star Family of Dealers covering the expense, our volunteers did some serious work on this house! Michael Malm with Malm Construction Company lent his skills and expertise as well. The project was lead by A1C Kyle Glotzbach.

Photo Gallery From The Pueblo Street Project

Car Wash Benefitting New Beginnings

Just over 40 volunteers came out and endured the triple-digit heat to raise nearly $600 to help fund upcoming WCT projects benefiting “New Beginnings”. Thank you to all the patrons that came by to have their car washed and a big thank you to Red Robin for hosting and your continued support of the Dyess We Care Team.

Car Wash Photo Gallery

WCT To The Rescue

On Saturday, June 29 the WCT gave a helping hand to an elderly lady on a fixed income to epair and paint her home. They also took care of a large limb that was hanging over her home in fear of the potential for it to break and fall on her home. Fortunately the large limb was removed before a major storm with wind gust of 70-80 mph roared through the city as it would have probably caused extensive damage to her home. She’s the daughter, wife, mother, and Aunt of military men, so it was our honor to help her. In all, 42 volunteers came out to help. Lunch was provided by Jason’s Deli. The project was led by A1C Eugene Dotson.

Photo Gallery

T w i t t e r
F a c e b o o k
N e x t   W C T   E v e n t
W C T   C a l e n d a r